You’ve been rear-ended by a reckless driver and have suffered significant injuries. But, you forgot to pay your car insurance bill and lost liability insurance coverage. The at-fault driver’s insurance company says you cannot get anything, because of Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law. Can you still recover anything for your injuries?
Louisiana law requires drivers to carry liability insurance for their vehicles operated within the state. This coverage pays for property damages or personal injury for which the driver may be legally responsible, up to your policy’s dollar limits. In Louisiana, each vehicle is required to have a policy which provides coverage for at least $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident, and $25,000 for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other property.
However, if a driver’s vehicle is not insured, then Louisiana’s No Pay, No Play law prohibits the driver from recovering the first $25,000 in property damages and the first $15,000 in personal injuries regardless of who caused the accident.
However, in Louisiana, The “No Pay, No Play” law is not absolute. There are three general exceptions:
- The uninsured vehicle was parked;
- The at-fault driver who collides with the uninsured driver (a) is driving while intoxicated, (b) intentionally causes the accident, (c) flees from the scene of the accident, or (d) at the time of the accident, is in furtherance of the commission of a felony offense under the law; and
- The uninsured driver is from another state that has different automobile insurance requirements.
While the “No Pay, No Play” law can limit recovery, it does not prevent an uninsured person from getting something for their injuries.
The attorneys of Akers+Melder are well-trained and equipped to determine what you can recover if you are facing Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law.